First one: Under the belt. The Canadian men's national team dazzled in a stressful opener to the final round of 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying Thursday, drawing level with Honduras 1-1 at BMO Field in Toronto. A 66th-minute penalty from striker Cyle Larin canceled out a first-half spot-kick from Honduras' Alexander López. Despite many chances, especially in the second half, coach John Herdman's side failed to grab all three points but did live up to the hype in their first final round World Cup qualifying match in over 20 years. Up next for Canada is a trip to Nashville, Tennessee and a date with the United States on Sunday (8pm ET/5pm PT live on OneSoccer & TSN) before returning to BMO Field to face El Salvador on Wednesday (7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT, live on OneSoccer and Sportsnet). Here are your sights and sounds for Thursday's historic match.

RELATED READING: HIGHLIGHTS: CanMNT draws Honduras in exhilarating final round World Cup qualifying homecoming


Continue reading...