With a shortened 2020 Canadian Premier League season comes adjusted regulations, including to the CPL’s under-21 rule. Michael Findlay, the CPL’s Director of Football Development, confirmed to CanPL.ca this week that clubs will be required to field domestic under-21 players for 250 combined minutes during The Island Games, which is down from the 2019 season’s 1,000-minute threshold. All domestic players born Jan. 1, 1999 or after will be classified as an under-21, including loanees and CPL-U SPORTS Draftees. Teams are still required to have at least three under-21s signed to their rosters for the campaign, which all eight clubs have confirmed. RELATED READING: The Island Games: 2020 CPL season previews for all eight teams CPL teams didn’t have trouble hitting the 1,000 minute threshold for Canadian under-21s in the league's first season: All seven clubs made the target by late August, and each side had at least one player single-handedly collect their team’s required minutes. Incredibly, Pacific FC surpassed the benchmark in just their third match of last season, away to Forge FC on May 8. In all, under-21 players combined for 36,161 minutes across the CPL in 2019. Here’s a team-by-team breakdown of under-21s players signed for the 2020 CPL season.

HFX Wanderers FC

Chrisnovic N'Sa Daniel Kinumbe Jake Ruby Scott Firth Luke Green


York9 FC

Julian Altobelli Ezequiel Carrasco Ijah Halley Max Ferrari Lowell Wright Isaiah Johnston

Atlético Ottawa​

Malyk Hamilton Gianfranco Facchineri Matteo de Brienne Antoine Coupland


Forge FC

Klaidi Cela Monti Mohsen Baj Maan


Valour FC

Federico Peña Raphaël Garcia Dante Campbell Shaan Hundal Yohan Le Bourhis Julian Dunn


FC Edmonton

Chance Carter Marcus Velado-Tsegaye Prince Amanda David Doe Anthony Caceres


Cavalry FC

José Hernández Mohamed Farsi Aribim Pepple


Pacific FC

Alessandro Hojabrpour Sean Young Emil Gazdov Noah Verhoeven

Continue reading...