Canadian Premier League — Match No. 3 Pacific FC vs. Valour FC May 1, 2019 — Westhills Stadium (11 p.m. ET, 8 p.m. PT) Watch Live: (Pre-show begins at 10:30 p.m. ET)

May 1 brings the first match in Valour FC history. Rob Gale's side is set to visit Pacific FC and Westhills Stadium Wednesday in the Canadian Premier League's third match -- and second on Vancouver Island. Pacific is just a few days removed from its inaugural match, a 1-0 win over HFX Wanderers. Hendrik Starostzik nodded home the winner, the first goal in Pacific FC history, and had a strong defensive outing to earn his side the league's first win. Valour FC, built largely on Gale's ties to Canada's youth national teams, come with several notable pieces. Co-captains Skylar Thomas and Jordan Murrell present a formidable defensive pairing while national team member Michael Petrasso is a talent on the wing. Tyson Farago is expected to be handed the gloves in net. The Winnipeg-based side will hope to get off to a strong start as they stare down a crucial stretch of three matches in seven days, which includes their home opener on Saturday against FC Edmonton (6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT/OneSoccer). Pacific will have a week off before heading to Hamilton to take on Forge on May 8 (7 p.m. ET/OneSoccer).

  • Surprise package: It goes without saying that Valour has the element of surprise on its side. Potential talisman Stephen Hoyle is the biggest unknown, coming from abroad with pedigree as a talented striker.
  • Defensive depth: Lukas MacNaughton's sending off on Sunday has forced Pacific FC head coach Michael Silberbauer's hand. PFC is lacking depth, especially at the back, meaning the loss of MacNaughton all but assures Ryan McCurdy, signed just two weeks prior to Wednesday's match, a starting spot at centre-back.
  • Purple, purple, purple: Westhills Stadium was rocking on Sunday with a sold-out crowd cheering Pacific on to their inaugural match victory. Another ruckus crowd could be enough to lift PFC to a massive six-point jump through the first four days of their club's existence.


Pacific FC: Mark Village; Blake Smith, Ryan McCurdy, Hendrik Starostzik, Kadin Chung; Noah Verhoeven, Matthew Baldisimo, Terran Campbell, Ben Fisk; Victor Blasco, Marcus Haber Valour FC: Tyson Farago; Skylar Thomas, Jordan Murrell, Adam Mitter; Nicolás Galvis, Louis Beland-Goyette, Josip Golubar, Raphael Ohin, Diego Gutierrez; Michael Petrasso, Stephen Hoyle

First meeting between these clubs


H. Starostzik (PFC) - 1 Goal


Pacific - De Jong (Out for season) Valour - Muenkat, Musse




Pacific - L. MacNaughton (Red card, April 28)




Referee: Juan Marquez ARs: Erina Cho, Jasmain Parr

Continue reading...