Cavalry FC and FC Edmonton played out one of the more memorable Al Classico’s of recent memory… But the result was the same. The Cavs outdid the Eddies in the first half on goals from Ben Fisk and Ahinga Selemani – a lead that was erased by back-to-back goals off corners set up by Fraser Aird and converted by Easton Ongaro and Amer Didic. Though, like most things in this tie, Calgary manages to do what Edmonton does just a bit better, this time through Daan Klomp’s headed effort off a corner. With the result, Cavalry captured the Wild Rose Cup having clinched the season series with their Alberta rivals. The supporters-created cup itself will be handed out on Saturday, Oct. 9 at Spruce Meadows. The Eddies will be back in action this Saturday when they visit Winnipeg and Valour FC (3:00pm ET/1:00pm MT). Cavalry FC is set to close out their seven-match league road trip Tuesday also away to Valour (8:00pm ET/6:00pm MT).

MATCH COVERAGE: HIGHLIGHTS: Cavalry FC takes spirited Al Classico 3-2 over FC Edmonton, captures Wild Rose Cup || Match Analysis: FC Edmonton 2-3 Cavalry FC


Continue reading...