Atlético Ottawa ended their eight-match winless skid Saturday with an energetic 3-1 win over Cavalry FC in front of a stellar home crowd at TD Place. Captain Drew Beckie opened the scoring in the opening minutes, completing an emotional return to the team after a health layoff. Cavalry’s Victor Loturi equalized soon after, only to see that cancelled out by a streaking Brian Wright taken down in the box by ‘keeper Marco Carducci in the second half. Carducci’s opposite, Dylon Powley, gave the match its highlight after saving a penalty and follow up from Sergio Camargo, insuring an impressive and empathic win from the last-place side over championship hopefuls Cavalry. Saturday was Ottawa’s first win since August 14, the club’s home opener. The result also brings Ottawa’s all-time record against Cavalry to 3-1-0, with wins at the 2020 Island Games and the season-opening Kickoff bubble of note. Both teams will return to their respective halves of the country Wednesday, starting with Ottawa’s trip out east to face HFX Wanderers FC (5:30pm ET/6:30pm AT). Cavalry will face FC Edmonton in an evening Al Classico live from the Albertan capital later in the evening (10:00pm ET/8:00pm MT). All CPL matches are live on OneSoccer. Here are your Sights and Sounds from Ottawa.

MATCH COVERAGE: RECAP: Beckie, Shaw & Wright end Atlético Ottawa winless skid in emphatic 3-1 win over Cavalry FC || Match Analysis: Atlético Ottawa 3-1 Cavalry FC




Continue reading...