Your chance to meet some CPL and Canadian soccer stars comes this Sunday at the 2021 Allstate Soccer Show. Mexico international Carlos Vela and former Aston Villa and Manchester United striker Dwight Yorke highlight the field of players at the virtual interactive event which also includes Canadian women’s national team players Stephanie Labbé, Shelina Zadorsky, and Desirée Scott; men’s national team members Junior Hoilett and Derek Cornelius; and CPL players Amer Didic and Shamit Shome of FC Edmonton, Marco Carducci and David Norman Jr. of Cavalry FC, and HFX Wanderers FC’s Cory Bent, Kieran Baskett, and Peter Schaale. Sunday’s proceedings kick off with a Canadian women’s national team panel featuring Labbé, Zadorsky, and Scott at 1 pm ET/11 am MT. Canadian women's coach Bev Priestman is also set for a one-on-one interview with OneSoccer’s Andi Petrillo ahead of two friendlies next month.

RELATED READING: CPL off-season roster tracker: Who’s in and who’s out for 2021? || 2021 CPL pre-season: What we know so far

At 2 pm ET/12 pm MT, Al Classico rival coaches Tommy Wheeldon Jr of Cavalry FC and Alan Koch of FC Edmonton will take to the virtual main stage with a discussion on player development and the path to the professional game in Canada. Shome, Schaale, and Norman Jr. will take part in a panel discussion at 4:30 pm ET/2:30 pm MT about what it’s like to be a professional in Canada and their journey to get there. Both panels, which will be hosted by CanPL.ca Newsroom’s Marty Thompson, will include a Q&A section that will allow viewers to ask questions. Viewers can also take part in a handful of meet and greets, including with CPLers Carducci and Didic starting at 5 pm ET/3 pm MT. To register for the event, click here.
Continue reading...