Cavalry FC bulked up it attacking options on Wednesday with the announcement that it has signed Argentinian striker Matías Roskopf to a multi-year deal. “Matias is a fantastic signing for us and fits the profile of the type of forward we were looking for. He possesses an excellent touch in how he combines with others, has an eye for the goal and very strong and mobile with the ability to attack crosses or go alone and shoot,” Cavalry coach Tommy Wheeldon Jr. said in a media release. “Coming through Boca Juniors and the national youth teams of Argentina shows he has exceptional pedigree and still has more to offer.”

RELATED READING: CPL off-season roster tracker - Who’s in and who’s out for 2021?

Roskopf, a 22-year-old native of Paraná, came up through the youth system at Club Atlético Colón before joining Buenos Aires-based Boca Juniors, one of the biggest teams in South America, in 2012. While on the books at Boca, Roskopf went on loan with Uruguayan side Torque where he made his professional debut in 2018. During his one season with Torque, Roskopf scored three goals in 25 appearances. In 2019, Roskopf signed Rapid București in Romania’s second division where he had four goals and two assists in 17 appearances. He then moved to Cypriot club Apollon Limassol in early 2020, but the COVID-19 pandemic limited him to a single appearance. He then returned to Romania where he briefly featured for Universitatea Cluj, but left the club in November. The Argentinian attacker also boasts valuable international experience, having represented his country at youth level, including playing in the South American U-17 Championships and the FIFA U17 World Cup in 2015. “The whole idea of going to Canada makes me very happy because I’ve only heard good things about Canadians and their way of living. It is a beautiful country with plenty to see,” Roskopf said of coming to Canada. Roskopf is the 14th Cavalry player confirmed for 2021, joining newcomers Tom Field, Joseph Di Chiara and Ahinga Selemani, returnees such as José Escalante, Elijah Adekugbe, Mason Trafford and Nik Ledgerwood

Continue reading...