Canada Soccer released on Friday morning the full men’s national team squad that will travel to Edmonton, Alberta for the upcoming FIFA World Cup Qualifying matches against Costa Rica (Nov. 12) and Mexico (Nov. 16). John Herdman's squad features key contributors from the last two international windows, including stars like Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Tajon Buchanan (New England Revolution) and Jonathan David (Lille). Returning to the national team after missing the October window due to injury are Cyle Larin, Atiba Hutchinson (both Beşiktaş), and goalkeeper Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade), all of whom played for Canada in September as well. Vancouver Whitecaps striker Lucas Cavallini is back as well, after missing the previous camp with injury. Also included in this 23-player squad is Iké Ugbo, the 23-year-old KRC Genk striker who revealed on Thursday that he has chosen to represent Canada internationally after playing for England at youth level. "The conversations I've had with (Ugbo) and his people, they're expecting him to have a big season toward the end of this year and next year, and build a career similar to a Jonathan David," Herdman said in a media call Friday. "He's someone that I think his star is going to keep building, and for Canada it's just more depth... He's an out-and-out number nine, he likes to play between the two centre-backs, he likes to lead the line, he can run behind the line and stretch the line, which I like. It's a facet that can help complement other players in the way that we play." Among the notable omissions from this squad, which is pared down somewhat from the larger roster of the last window, is Toronto FC winger Jacob Shaffelburg, as well as Liam Fraser (Columbus Crew SC), FC Eindhoven attacker Charles-Andreas Brym, and defender Scott Kennedy of Jahn Regensburg. Perhaps the most significant absence, though, is Reading FC forward Junior Hoilett, who missed the last window with injury as well. As it stands, Canada sits third in the Concacaf ‘Octagon’ for World Cup Qualifying, with 10 points from six matches — behind only Mexico (14 points) and the United States (11). In this format, the top three from the eight-team round robin qualify directly for Qatar 2022, while the fourth-place side advances to an intercontinental playoff. In the last international window, Canada earned hard-fought draws in both Mexico and Jamaica before beating Panama 4-1 at BMO Field in Toronto. This time, they’ll host both Costa Rica and Mexico at Edmonton’s Commonwealth Stadium, hoping to carry on their strong form on Canadian soil. Herdman revealed on Friday that he's already met with the groundskeeper at the stadium, looking to ensure that the turf playing surface will be just as Canada wants it. Plus, the NHL's Edmonton Oilers have apparently opened some of their facilities to the men's national team to use in their time in the Albertan capital. "Getting into that stadium and potentially feeling 50,000 people at your back, I'm sure it's what (Alphonso Davies) has dreamed of," Herdman said. "For many of us, these men, I don't know if they've played in front of 50,000 Canadians, some of them have never experienced that before." He added: "I keep saying this to my players, we have to get our performance right first, we have to bring our intensity. We have to look to own the ground that we're on, and by doing that it's playing our way. If we play our way, the fans come with us. If we show our commitment, the fans come with us. It's happened in Toronto now in the last two, three matches we've played there for sure, and there's a great opportunity for the people of Edmonton to be part of history. That's what this is, it'll be hopefully, 'Where were you when?' And that's the opportunity these fans have." Canada's full roster is below.

CanMNT Roster:​

GK- Milan Borjan | SRB / FK Crvena zvezda (Red Star Belgrade) GK- Maxime Crépeau | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC GK- James Pantemis | CAN / CF Montréal CB- Derek Cornelius | GRE / Panetolikos FC CB- Doneil Henry | KOR / Suwon Samsung Bluewings CB- Kamal Miller | CAN / CF Montréal CB- Steven Vitória | POR / Moreirense FC FB- Samuel Adekugbe | TUR / Hatayspor FC FB- Alistair Johnston | USA / Nashville SC FB- Richie Laryea | CAN / Toronto FC M- Stephen Eustáquio | POR / FC Paços de Ferreira M- Atiba Hutchinson | TUR / Beşiktaş JK M- Mark-Anthony Kaye | USA / Colorado Rapids M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC M- Samuel Piette | CAN / CF Montréal M- David Wotherspoon | SCO / St. Johnstone FC F- Tajon Buchanan | USA / New England Revolution F- Lucas Cavallini | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC F- Jonathan David | FRA / Lille OSC F- Alphonso Davies | GER / FC Bayern München F- Cyle Larin | TUR / Beşiktaş JK F- Liam Millar | SUI / FC Basel F- Iké Ugbo | BEL / KRC Genk

Continue reading...