So, what’s next? If you, Canadian soccer supporter, were left wondering that Tuesday night after the Canadian men’s national team defeated Haiti to reach the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying final round – you’re not alone. Canada is set to face the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Honduras, Panama, and El Salvador in the final round – known as the "octagon" – with Concacaf announcing a full slate of matches for the eight-team round for Fall 2021 and Winter 2022 early Wednesday morning. John Herdman’s side will open the final round against Honduras at home on Thursday, Sept. 2 – one of three games in the opening window. Canada will have five windows and 14 matches to finish in the top three for automatic qualification for Qatar – a fourth-place finish would put them in an intercontinental playoff with a representative from another FIFA confederation for a potential fourth Concacaf spot. Here’s Canada’s schedule broken down by window.

RELATED READING: How Canadian soccer reacted to CanMNT’s historic World Cup qualifying result || 3 thoughts: CanMNT overwhelm Haiti with skill, make their own luck || HIGHLIGHTS: CanMNT reaches World Cup qualifying finale for 1st time in over 20 years with Haiti win

September 2021 Canada vs. Honduras – Thursday, Sept. 2 United States vs. Canada – Sunday, Sept. 5 Canada vs. El Salvador – Wednesday, Sept. 8 October 2021 Mexico vs. Canada – Thurs. Oct. 7 Jamaica vs. Canada – Sunday, Oct 10 Canada vs. Panama – Wednesday, Oct. 13 November 2021 Canada vs. Costa Rica – TBD Canada vs. Mexico – TBD January-February 2022 Honduras vs. Canada – Thursday, Jan 27 Canada vs. United States – Sunday, Jan. 30 El Salvador vs. Canada – Wednesday, Feb, 2 March 2022 Costa Rica vs. Canada – Thursday, March 24 Canada vs. Jamaica – Sunday, March 27 Panama vs. Canada – Wednesday, March 30
Continue reading...