The 2021 Gold Cup will take place next summer, with sixteen nations coming together to battle for supremacy in the Concacaf region. The tournament was originally slated to take place from July 2-25, but was later pushed back to run from July 10 to August 1. Mexico is the defending champion, and will be looking to extend its record of eight tournament championships. Canada, of course, famously won the 2000 Concacaf Gold Cup when it upset Colombia in the final. Before we get to next summer’s Gold Cup, though, we have to find out the groups and matchups, and how the 16-nation field will be divided up. That’s where the official tournament draw comes in. Here’s what you need to know about Monday’s draw. LIVE STEAM: 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup draw on OneSoccer
When does the draw take place?

The draw for the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup will take place in Miami on Monday, starting at 8:00 p.m. ET.
How can I watch it?

OneSoccer will live stream Monday night’s draw.
What teams have qualified for the Gold Cup so far?

Sixteen nations will compete at the 2021 Gold Cup, 12 of which have already qualified for the tournament via the 2019-20 Concacaf Nations League. The 12 nations who have already booked their ticket for the Gold Cup are: CANADA, Costa Rica, Curaçao, El Salvador, Grenada, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Suriname and the United States. 2022 FIFA World Cup host Qatar, who are also the reigning Asian Cup Champions, will compete at the Gold Cup as an invited guest.
What about the rest of the field?

The remaining three spots will be filled during the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup qualification tournament, which will be hosted by the U.S. next July. Twelve nations will compete in the qualifiers: Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cuba, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Montserrat, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.
How does the draw work?

Monday’s draw will not only determine the matchups for the qualification tournament, but also the four groups for the Gold Cup. For the draw, 16 teams have been divided into four pots. The four teams in Pot 1 are automatically seeded: Mexico is in Group A, the United States is in Group B, Costa Rica is in Group C, and Honduras in in Group D. Also, Qatar has already been placed in Group D. Pot 2 is made up of CANADA, El Salvador, Jamaica and Panama. Pot 3 contains Curaçao, Grenada, Martinique and Suriname. Pot 4 has Qatar (which has already been drawn into Group D) and the three nations from the qualification tournament. Each nation from Pot 2 will be drawn and placed in one of the four groups. Then the teams from Pot 3 will be distributed among the four groups, followed by Pot 4.

Continue reading...